Posted in Devotionals

Prayer and Fasting (Esther 4:16a)

16 “Go, gather all the Jews to be found in Susa, and hold a fast on my behalf, and do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my young women will also fast as you do.

Image

When I was in college, I have a friend who always fast (Her name is Yasmeen).I think they were encouraged by their church to do such thing. I admit I was skeptical about fasting. I thought before it was just one way of those who do it to lose weight, that fasting was just a covered up word for strict dieting. I told myself, “I wouldn’t want to starve myself to death”. But all of my wrong notions were corrected when I tried it. It’s a small sacrifice we can do when we want God’s guidance and answer to our prayers. It is one way also of showing that man does not live by bread alone. God himself fasted when He became a man.

Fasting is one way of saying, “I am letting go and I am now letting God, letting go of worries and letting God to take care of it”. Prayer and fasting works! See for yourself baby.

Leave a Reply

