Posted in Devotionals

Respect-Obey-Repay (Proverbs 6: 20-22)

My son, keep your father’s commandment,
and forsake not your mother’s teaching.
Bind them on your heart always;
tie them around your neck.
When you walk, they will lead you;
when you lie down, they will watch over you;
and when you awake, they will talk with you.

parents_child_silhouette1

I was currently watching while reading my Bible. The film is about a documentary of persons who are looking for Alamid seeds. These seeds are turned into the most expensive coffee in the country. One of the respondents was interviewed and he caught my attention. He was in his mid-60s or 70s and he is living alone. I ask myself how and why on earth is he living alone when in fact he do have sons and daughters?

“I visit them once in a while and I don’t feel welcomed most often. It is as if I’ll ask for money every time I go to their houses. Even though they don’t voice it out, I could sense that they were thinking the worse of me that’s why I opted to live here in the mountains alone. They do pay me a visit but just once in a month. I am worried if I die it would take weeks before someone will know and by that time I might be in the process of decaying already”.

It pains me to hear that story. At his age, supposed to be he should already be resting and not working. Can’t his children realize the sacrifices he did just to raise them? Why is he now taken for granted?

When it comes to our parents, we should always put in mind  the acronym R-O-R which stands for Respect-Obey-Repay. No other person can love as the same way as our parents does. We can choose our friends but we cannot choose our parents.

I remember my dad and mom’s “Don’t do this!”, “Don’t do that!” commandments. As a kid it made me sick. However, as grown-up, I had come to realize the importance of their teachings. I learned to value education, I learned how to work hard and play fair. I learned to give importance to money, friends and family. Now, even though they are far away, it’s as if they are just beside me every single day because through their teachings, I am being guided. Thank God for giving me the best parents in the whole wide world. Share how proud you are of your parents too!

2 thoughts on “Respect-Obey-Repay (Proverbs 6: 20-22)

  1. Thank God for the kind of parents I have. I am proud of them.
    What a nice post. May God help us to be more closer to Him so that our other relationships that are lagging behind will be ammended.

    Greetings

Leave a Reply

