Posted in Devotionals

Are you ready to die?

“I, yes I, am the one who comforts you. So why are you afraid of mere humans, who wither like the grass and disappear?

(Isaiah 51:12)

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/b5/5c/68/b55c68adad479df583fc64bdab9f21e3.jpg

Being a fan of SOCO Series and other crime related documentaries makes me become aware that there are a lot of wicked men in all sides of this world. Serial killers, murderers, terrorists, rapists, pushers, child molesters, thieves, etc. are existing and are growing in number despite the strict implementation of rules. They are like an infestation that keeps multiplying. Seems like there’s no longer a safe place for us to live in. You do not know it might be that one of your neighbors is one of the fugitives.

“Are you ready to die?” my cell leader once asked. That had caught me off-guard. Am I ready to die? I was not able to answer for a few seconds. What had come to my mind were my family, friends and my dreams. I still have a long way to success. I still have a lot of things that I want to experience, achievement I wanted to reach, plans I wanted to fulfill.

Life is unpredictable. We will never know when, where and how are we going to die that is why we must live everyday as if it is our last day on earth. A child on the home hit by a truck, rushed but proclaimed dead on arrival in a medical center, a woman walking in a dark alley raped and killed, a family massacred by a drug addict, two elderly couples left lifeless due to multiple gunshot wounds —these are innocent people who became victims of this world’s wickedness. Were they all ready to die?

Not all of us will have a happy ending here on earth. Some lives were ended ruthlessly. But know for a fact that the devil will not attain victory over our Father. These wicked men are also creations of God and that means God is still in control. Isn’t it that he is our Savior, our Protector? We shouldn’t be afraid because we are being shielded by the blood of Jesus. Those who fear God should not be afraid of anyone.

For those whose lives were lost because of evil doers, I believe they are in a happier place right now. We are here on earth temporarily, our real home is in Heaven. It just happened that those who died earlier where able to reach home before us.

One thought on “Are you ready to die?

Leave a Reply

