Posted in Devotionals

A Nation of Injustice (Jeremiah 5:27-29)

27 Like cages full of birds,
    their houses are full of deceit;
they have become rich and powerful
28     and have grown fat and sleek.
Their evil deeds have no limit;
    they do not seek justice.
They do not promote the case of the fatherless;
    they do not defend the just cause of the poor.
29 Should I not punish them for this?”
    declares the Lord.
“Should I not avenge myself
    on such a nation as this?

traffic
retrieved from usjeepney

June 2013. I was on my way to Veterans Memorial Medical center to follow-up about the schedule of my IQ test when I encountered a terrifying experience with some members of the Ipit Gang. I rode a jeepney at St. Thomas Square. It was raining back then, the traffic was moderate to heavy. When we reached Puregold, about four people rode the jeepney sitting in different places. One of them sat beside me. The other one sat before the person in front of me.

They say women’s instinct are almost always reliable. That time, I felt the urge to go off the vehicle for I can sense that these men were up to something not good. True to my expectations, around five minutes after, the person seated before the passenger in front of me said that I had dropped my five peso coin. How was that even possible that He could see the coin when we were so compressed that time like sardines! I ignored him at first.What he did, he placed his hands in between my left leg and the right leg of the one seated next to me and he showed the coin (which I doubt was there before they ride the jeepney). And then I felt that the person next to me was picking up something in his right pocket while his left hand was touching my bag. My mind says “Alight! Alight!”. So what I did, I shouted, “kuya,para!” (“Stop!”) and I am so glad the driver did stop the car. No harm was done. I was so thankful to God that nothing was snatched or something.I rode another jeepney and upon reaching the walk bridge going to SM North, I noticed that the previous jeepney with the Ipit gang members was already parked in the side with no passengers inside.God knows what had happened.

Men these days are becoming wicked. Gone were those days when there was still a fair trial, fair treatment and fair justice. Some of the robbers, snatchers, murderers, kidnappers, and drug pushers are not put to into prison because they have protectors in the government. Because of that, they are not afraid to do wicked things. They become rich due to taking what does not belong to them.

Are you one of the victims of crimes, deceit or unfair treatment? Are you losing hope if justice will still be served? Do not worry my friend. They may escape the law of the land but they won’t be able to hide in God’s eyes and the punishment that God will give them.

Our nation is now full of mischief. Must we add up to the increasing number of evil doers? Live righteously and follow God’s commandments. It doesn’t matter if we are poor here on earth if we are living cleanly and decently for in Heaven we will live abundantly.

 

Leave a Reply

