Posted in Devotionals

Marriage is for keeps (Hebrews 13:4-5)

Marriage should be honored by all, and the marriage bed kept pure, for God will judge the adulterer and all the sexually immoral. Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have,because God has said,

“Never will I leave you;
    never will I forsake you.”

I was addicted to Koreanovelas(Korean tv series) when I was in Secondary School that I would stay up late and wake up with painful eyes the next day. However, things had changed when I entered college and got employed. Since then, I was never into movies or series. I’d prefer documentaries. Ask me about Harry Potter, Batman, Twilight or Game of Thrones, I will not have anything to say.

Last holy week, I started searching for Christian movies that I could watch in the bus while on our way to the province. The very first one I had chosen is Heaven is for Real and I got hooked! Now I am so hungry and eager to watch such movies that is all about faith and works of God.

Timely, the movies I watched yesterday were all about marriage. The first one was entitled THE SONG which was a re-imagination of the story of King Solomon. The main character was Jed King, a son of the late singer David King, who was hungry for fame and money. His discontentment led to the wreckage of his marriage, adultery and drug addiction.

The second movie which I viewed until almost 1:00 am was FIREPROOF. It is another good story about marriage. Caleb and Catherine’s relationship was on the rocks and were planning for a divorce when the former’s father gave him a book entitled THE LOVE DARE.

Just watching these movies made me realize vital things about marriage. I learned lessons which I could apply in my own marriage someday. God meant marriage to last for life. There may be challenges along the way but if God is the center of the relationship, couples can overcome. Even the wisest of men was a fool for love and for that reason, it is never enough to depend on ourselves alone. Lust and adultery are unpleasing in God’s eyes no matter what our reasons are.

We need God to lead us. We need God to protect us from temptation. We need God to realize our mistakes. We need God to be able to forgive. We need God to know what love is.

Marriage is for richer and poorer, in sickness and in health. No matter how hard life is, if we stay connected to God, we can be victorious. He said, He will never leave us nor forsake us. He will always be by our side.

I’m glad both movies had a happy ending. I pray that those marriages which are to be or have been dissolved will be restored just as what He did to Jed and Rose and to Caleb and Catherine.

4 thoughts on “Marriage is for keeps (Hebrews 13:4-5)

  1. What a wonderful journey to enrich your mind and heart with the things of Christ! I am very much the same. It is so easy to get desensitized to the things of the world that are not honoring to God. I am very picky about the “secular” shows I expose myself and my family to. I watch cooking shows and home renovations and Christian movies. Have you seen Courageous? War Room? Mom’s Night Out? Woodlawn? Hope these are a few more movies you can enjoy! Be blessed 😂

    1. Hi sister in Christ!You’re right about picky.I am too..Last night i watched War Room.Thank you for your recommendations.Id definitely watch all of it!Appreciate it much sis!=)Godbless u

      1. My sister…I LOVE War Room! It is powerful. My kids were so inspired and me too. My 9 year old has her closet filled with little prayer post it notes…bless her heart. Guard your heart in Christ Jesus! Be blessed my sister 🙂

Leave a Reply

