Posted in Devotionals

Sin and its wages (Ezekiel 16:62-63)

62 I will establish my covenant with you, and you shall know that I am the Lord, 63 that you may remember and be confounded, and never open your mouth again because of your shame, when I atone for you for all that you have done, declares the Lord God.”

jesusforgavemysins
retrieved from crossroads fellowship

Because of God’s amazing mercy and grace, we were saved and eternal life awaits us. Instead of us being crucified, it was Christ who suffered and died, His one and only Son. Knowing that fact, we should all be grateful. Whose father would offer his son to die for other peoples’ wrongdoings? I know no one but God.

Did you know that the consequence of sin is death? Read the verse in Romans 6:23 which says, “For the wages of sin is death.” If that is so, I deserve to die countlessly, we deserve to die! Yet God is so gracious. Continue reading the text and it says, “…but the gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord!

It has been a couple of years ago when I heard of Romans 6:23. At first, my desire to be sinless as much as possible was on fire because I always remind myself of the crucifixion yet as the days go by I got too busy because of schooling and the fire wasn’t as burning as it was before. Now, as God spoke to me using the verse above (Ezekiel 16:62-63) I was reminded. What a shame that I still commit sin thinking that the expense was paid by another man! It was Christ who suffered for every transgression that I make. It was him who was stricken, mocked and nailed at the cross because of me doing wicked things!

I’ve come to realize, to minimize the possibility of engaging ourselves with sin, we should fill our minds with thoughts of God, with pictures of Jesus Christ at the cross so that we will always be reminded of what we deserve that wasn’t done to us. In that way, we could feel a little shame for ourselves and the probability of succumbing to the will of the flesh or doing wicked things will be lessened.

Leave a Reply

